Marty Stuart's New Album Hits Stores Today

This appeared on - April 24, 2012

Grammy winner Marty Stuart has released Nashville, Volume 1: Tear the Woodpile Down, his third album for Sugar Hill Records, to stores today (4/24). The 10 song collection was written almost entirely by Marty and features his touring band the Fabulous Superlatives plus guest vocals from Buck Trent, Kenny Lovelace, Robbie Turner, Hank Williams III, and Lorrie Carter Bennett. Full tracklist is below.

The collection aims to be a journey back to the traditional country music Stuart loved when he first arrived in Nashville in 1972.

“When I reconnected with traditional country music I found myself, my calling,” says Stuart. “The kind that is timeless, beautiful, beyond trend, the empowering force, the reflection of a people and a culture. The kind of country music that the working man and scholars alike call home. The job seemed to be to champion it, love it, protect it, care for its people, attempt to write a new chapter for it and to make sure that everybody understands that it’s alive and well in the 21st century.”

Stuart also hosts The Marty Stuart Show on RFD TV, providing a platform for some of Nashville’s classic artists on national television. Check out his upcoming tour dates here.

Nashville, Volume 1: Tear the Woodpile Down tracklisting:

1. Tear The Woodpile Down (Feat. Buck Trent)
2. Sundown In Nashville
3. A Matter Of Time (Feat. Kenny Lovelace)
4. Hollywood Boogie
5. Holding On To Nothing (Feat. Buck Trent)
6. Truck Driver’s Blues
7. Going, Going, Gone
8. The Lonely Kind
9. A Song Of Sadness (Feat. Lorrie Carter Bennett)
10. Picture From Life’s Other Side (Feat. Hank3)

By Jon Freeman

Return To Articles Return To Home Page