Marty Stuart Announces New Double Album Coming In September

This appeared on - May 23, 2014

Marty Stuart has announced his next album. And this time he’s doubling up.

That’s right, the newest release from the veteran country artist and five-time Grammy winner will be a double album. Titled Saturday Night & Sunday Morning, the collection is due for release September 30.

Stuart’s idea was to split the material into two camps — the rowdier, party-friendly ‘Saturday night’ songs are the first disc, while the more solemn, reflective songs live on the ‘Sunday morning’ portion of the set. It’s a fun tactic, and one that bluegrass great Ralph Stanley employed on a double album of his own back in 1994, which was also titled Saturday Night & Sunday Morning.

Stuart’s album includes more than a dozen original compositions along with covers of such traditional songs as Hank Williams’ “I’m Blue, I’m Lonesome,” the Statler Brothers’ “Firing Line,” and George Jones’ “Old Old House.” The song “Uncloudy Day” was a hit in 1956 for the Staples Singers, who join Stuart on the track. See the full track list below.

“A few years ago, I rededicated myself to traditional country music,” Stuart said in a press release. “We [Stuart and his band, the Fabulous Superlatives] spent some time in RCA Studios in Nashville, where so much of modern country was created, and we worked to imitate that style of production and songwriting.”

Billboard premiered a song from the album, titled “Rough Around the Edges.” The lyrics of the song, Stuart said, reflect “my life from 1987 to about ten years ago…a hard-living honky-tonk musicianlifestyle.”

Stuart began his career working with bluegrass great Lester Flatt. During the 1980s and ’90s he released a series of singles, including the hits “Hillbilly Rock,” “Tempted” and “The Whiskey Ain’t Working,” the latter a duet with Travis Tritt. Tritt and Stuart toured together in the 1990s as well under the name the No Hats Tour, a reference to the “hat acts” who were popular at the time.

Saturday Night & Sunday Morning track list:
Saturday Night
1. Jailhouse
2. I’m Blue, I’m Lonesome
3. Geraldine
4. Rough Around The Edges
5. When It Comes To Loving You
6. Sad House Big Party
7. Talkin’ To The Wall
8. Lifes Ups And Downs
9. Look At That Girl
10. Old, Old House
11. Streamline
Sunday Morning
1. Uncloudy Day (featuring The Staple Singers)
2. Boogie Woogie
3. Long Walk To Heaven
4. That Gospel Music
5. The Gospel Way
6. Mercy Number 1
7. Firing Line
8. God Will Make A Way
9. Good News
10. Angels Rock Me To Sleep
11. Cathedral
12. Heaven
By Kurt Wolff

Return To Articles Return To Home Page