Marty Stuart To Receive Symphony Harmony Award

This appeared on - November 22, 2010

Marty Stuart will receive the prestigious Harmony Award at the 2010 Symphony Ball on Saturday, December 11 at Loews Vanderbilt Plaza Hotel.

The Harmony Award is presented annually to individuals who have supported and helped develop Nashville’s musical culture, and shown particular interest in the many kinds of music which exist here in harmony.

Stuart is a four-time GRAMMY® winner, platinum-selling recording artist, Grand Ole Opry star, country music preservationist and songwriter. Record producer and previous Harmony Award winner Tony Brown explains, “Marty has been the torchbearer and authority on all things ‘Hillbilly, Mountain Music, Bluegrass, Traditional Country and Southern Music,’ period! He is absolutely one of Nashville’s treasures.”

Other previous recipients of the Harmony Award include Amy Grant, LeAnn Rimes, Michael W. Smith, Mike & Linda Curb, Lyle Lovett, Trisha Yearwood, Dolly Parton, The Judds, Steve Winwood, Vince Gill, Wynonna and Naomi Judd, Chet Atkins, Martina McBride, Rascal Flatts and Carrie Underwood.

The 26th annual Symphony Ball is being chaired by Lin Andrews and Janet Ayers. The ball annually raises $500,000 for the Symphony and its commitment to artistic excellence and music education. Since its inception in 1985, it has raised a total of more than $6.5 million. This year’s event is being held at Loews Vanderbilt Plaza while Schermerhorn Symphony Center continues to undergo repairs from the May flood.

By Sarah Skates

Return To Articles Return To Home Page