Announcement Of Symphony Ball Harmony Award For 2010

This appeared on - November 22, 2010

Symphony Ball Co-chairs Lin Andrews and Janet Ayers announced recipients of two special awards to be presented at the 2010 Symphony Ball, taking place Saturday, December 11, 2010 at Loews Vanderbilt Plaza Hotel. Marty Stuart will receive the prestigious Harmony Award for 2010.

The Harmony Award is presented annually at the Nashville Symphony Ball to individuals who have demonstrated continued interest and support of music in Nashville. In addition to exemplifying the unique harmony between the many worlds of music that exist in our city, recipients must have contributed significantly to the development and appreciation of Nashville's musical culture.

Ever since his youth, when he got his start singing gospel and performing alongside bluegrass legend Lester Flatt, Harmony Award winner Marty Stuart has exhibited a showman's zest for every conceivable flavor of country music. A four-time GRAMMY® winner, platinum-selling recording artist, Grand Ole Opry star, country music preservationist and songwriter, Stuart possesses a missionary's zeal for bringing the importance of the music and its themes home to longtime fans and newcomers alike. Leader of the band The Fabulous Superlatives, he has been hailed as one of the most important roots musicians and visionaries in America and has also earned a reputation as a stylist, designer, photographer and all-around Renaissance man.

Nashville record producer Tony Brown - himself a previous Harmony Award winner - says it best: "Let me speak of Marty Stuart, ‘Icon in the Making'! Marty has not only always pushed the boundaries of country music, but has been the torchbearer and authority on all things ‘Hillbilly, Mountain Music, Bluegrass, Traditional Country and Southern Music,' period! He ‘walks the walk' and is absolutely one of Nashville's treasures. I'm proud to have produced some of his records and to call him my friend. Thank you, Marty, for preserving the South's and Nashville's heritage. Because of this, you are known around the world; congratulations!"

Other previous recipients of the Harmony Award include Amy Grant, LeAnn Rimes, Michael W. Smith, Mike & Linda Curb, Lyle Lovett, Trisha Yearwood, Dolly Parton, The Judds, Steve Winwood, Vince Gill, Wynonna and Naomi Judd, Chet Atkins, Martina McBride, Rascal Flatts and Carrie Underwood.

Return To Articles Return To Home Page