Josh Turner, Marty Stuart New Walk Of Fame Inductees

This appeared on - April 10, 2009

The impact of country singers Josh Turner and Marty Stuart is being permanently cemented in Nashville as they join four other new inductees in the Music City Walk of Fame.

The ceremony, slated for April 19, 2009, takes place at Hall of Fame Park, within sight of the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum and the Sommet Center, where the Country Music Association hands out its annual awards each fall.

Joining Marty and Josh among the honorees are songwriter-producer "Cowboy" Jack Clement, who produced Johnny Cash’s "Ring Of Fire" and Charley Pride’s "Kiss An Angel Good Mornin’"; Mike Curb, whose eponymous record label markets music by Tim McGraw, LeAnn Rimes and Rodney Atkins; gospel singer CeCe Winans; and late preservationist Dr. R.H. Boyd.

"It’s a privilege to honor the great accomplishments of this impressive class of inductees," said Butch Spyridon, president of the Nashville Convention & Visitors Bureau. "Each honoree represents the immense talent, creativity and diverse musical styles that have made Nashville, Music City."

The induction, sponsored by GAC and Gibson Guitar, brings the number of plaques in the Walk of Fame to 37. Others who’ve been inducted since the sidewalk’s inaugural 2006 ceremony include Emmylou Harris, Steve Wariner, Reba McEntire, Barbara Mandrell and Trace Adkins.

Return To Articles Return To Home Page